The Blessed Check-In

Hello fellow human.

Today, I want to talk about something seemingly small but profoundly impactful to people all over the world. The power of a check-in. Whether it's a phone call, a text message, an email or even a letter (remember those!), the act of someone checking in with us is a powerful demonstration that someone cares.

Recently, I was plodding around the supermarket when my phone rang. It was my friend Dave calling to touch base and see how life is going with Mike McCarthy. After the call, it struck me how my mood had changed. In my opinion, it’s not just the calls that matter specifically, it's these moments of connection, these check-ins, that can enrich our lives.

It takes less than a minute to send a message and can give someone a boost.

Dave’s regular messages, whether through calls or texts, remind me of the significance of staying connected. These communications are never long or elaborate, but they create a lifeline of goodwill. They remind me that amidst life’s chaos, someone is thinking of me. I feel grateful that anyone, especially a busy father and husband, would take a few minutes to even think of me and maintain our friendship. I felt blessed that I have friends like this in my life.

Reflection 🤔

Let’s consider the value of a check-in in our lives. Each message or call we receive is a small yet significant reminder that we are part of a community, that we are thought of, and cared for. This week, let's not only appreciate the check-ins we receive but also reach out to others. Let's think of people that are alone and don't receive any check-in yet long for some human connection. There's nothing wrong with a wave and a smile to a stranger if the inclination hits you!

And for those among us who might not often receive such messages, remember that reaching out can also be a wonderful way to light up someone else’s day. Let’s make a point to check in with someone who might need a word of encouragement. It’s a small gesture that can make a big difference.

God Bless 🙏

Mike McCarthy 🫡

/