Blessed to learn from the older generations

My Dearest Friends,

I hope all is well in your world, wherever you are. Today's letter is inspired by a chance encounter with an elderly gentleman named Chris.

I was out for a walk, listening to an audiobook on a sunny evening, lost in my own world. To my surprise, an elderly man standing by a car started waving at me, beckoned me to come over. He told me that his car was going to the garage the next day and asked if I could help him take the hubcap covers off the wheels. I duly obliged and set to my task. With Chris prying on one side with a screwdriver and your favourite newsletter creator prying on the other, we had them off in no time.

I wish my real life hairline was as good as this picture!

Chris was very thankful, as he told me that he didn't want to call his son, especially as he lives far away, but that at 84, it was just too much of a task for him now. I told him it was a pleasure to help, and it truly was, spending time in his company. We started talking outside his house, and he told me how he moved in here when the houses were newly built in the early '60s. We discussed his memories of growing up when our city which was much smaller and what people consider the city today was acre upon acre of countryside that children would explore in the summer time.

He even spoke about his first job, which was in a granary storehouse by the river Lee in Cork City. It was a place of much hustle and bustle, he told me. At that time, these granaries were the hub of trade, as boats would be loaded and unloaded there. He remembered seeing cattle lined up by the dockside in the middle of the town, ready to be loaded onto boats for England, and people boarding large passenger ships to immigrate to the UK. He also remarked on how hard the dockers used to work back then, unloading coal boats with their shovels. The building he worked in is being demolished as we speak, replaced by apartments and office buildings. All those memories are being torn down along with it. Such is life; nobody can stand in the way of progress.

As we bid each other farewell, we thanked each other. He thanked me for helping with the car, and I thanked him for the trip down memory lane. I felt like the blessed one in the exchange, as I took so much from him. I got some valuable insights into the past.

Reflection 🤔

We are blessed to have elderly people in our communities who greatly enrich our lives. Think of an elderly person you've encountered who taught you something valuable or gave you insight into the past through their perspective. How can you honour their contributions or learn more from them? Society sometimes feels like it is geared towards the young, we should always advocate for the elderly as we owe them much.

God Bless 🙏

Mike McCarthy 🫡