Divine Timing

Hello my valued friends,

We live in a world where seemingly minor decisions or events  can lead to major life changes. Have you ever stumbled upon something wonderful purely by chance? Imagine deciding on a whim to attend an event you weren't planning on, only to meet the person who would become your future spouse. Or consider the moment you chose to visit a new bookstore instead of going straight home, leading to a chance encounter that sparked a lifelong friendship.

Such moments make you wonder if it's all just random or if there's something more? This is what I call a fortunate coincidence . Is there a divine hand guiding us that we are unaware of? We are too busy living our daily lives that these mini miracles slip by unnoticed. To dismiss these moments as mere luck is a disservice and feels ungrateful to these blessings when they grace our lives. 

Let me share a personal encounter that illustrates this for me. Many years ago when I was learning to drive I approached a bridge and needed to turn left. I checked both ways, saw nothing coming, and proceeded. However, just as I was setting off, my car stalled. At that very moment, a car that I hadn’t noticed roared past. Had my car moved as intended, it would have certainly collided with me on the driver's side. 

Good luck or divine intervention?

You could call that chance, but to me, there’s a divine hand at play. When we view such events as something greater at work, it makes life more profound. Had my car moved successfully that day, my life would be so different. Might I have been in a serious collision? Would I have survived? If I survived, would I have been incapacitated or seriously injured. What damage could I have done to the other car? It’s on such a narrow margin that a life can turn. I like to think that I was blessed that day, that somehow something caused that engine to stop and, in doing so, I was protected. 

In closing may I quote the last line of the Irish Poet John O Donohue from his poem   “A Blessing of Angels” which encapsulates how I feel when I look back at that moment. 

May all the Angels be your sheltering

And joyful guardians

John O Donohue

Reflection🤔

Today, I encourage you to take a moment to think about the instances of fortunate coincidence in your own life. Consider those times when the stars seemed to align just right, bringing you a friendship or opportunity at just the right moment. Reflect on any 'near misses' that might have changed your life's course. Be grateful for these instances. Recognise them as the gifts that they are.

God Bless,

Mike McCarthy