• The Blessed Club
  • Posts
  • Homeward Bound:That Great Feeling When You Return To Your Home.

Homeward Bound:That Great Feeling When You Return To Your Home.

Hello Friends,

I’ve just returned from Hamburg, Germany. It’s intriguing how travel can illuminate the simple comforts we often overlook—the warmth of our bed, the quiet of our personal space, or a regular routine. My recent trip was nice, yet returning home brought a comforting sense of peace.

This reflection led me to ponder those for whom “Home” is a longing rather than a reality. The thought of not having a safe haven is sobering. Many are forced from their homes by circumstances beyond their control, be it economic hardship, conflict, or natural disasters. In my opinion, when you’re not in your home, a part of you remains on guard or feels unsettled. Even in the Bible, we see how the Israelites spent 40 years wandering in the wilderness before they too could find a home. This speaks to the profound need humanity has for a home.

The comfort of Home.

In Dublin airport at the bus depot, I could viscerally feel that yearning for home. As a storm led to cancelled flights, everyone crowded at the bus stop that had missed the earlier scheduled buses. The tension was palpable as people wondered how they would be able to get home. You could see the relief as the bus driver began to let those waiting onboard. We could go “Home.” On the bus, a woman called her husband, her voice filled with gratitude, telling him that she got on the bus and to be ready to collect her when the bus would arrive.

Finally home myself later that night, I relished the simple comforts—a hot shower, my own bed, and the security of my own space. Exhausted yet grateful, I was reminded of the luxury of having a place to return to, a sanctuary of one’s own. This experience has deepened my appreciation for my home and the comfort it represents. It’s a reminder of the blessings we often take for granted.

Reflection 🤔

Let us not forget the value of the homes we return to and the significance they hold in our lives. What parts of your home fill you with gratitude and help make it a special place to return to? Let’s take a moment to remember those people that are seeking a home of their own or people that have a home but yet still don’t feel safe or at peace.

God Bless 🙏

Mike McCarthy