The Power of Thank You

The Power of a Thank You

Hello my loyal readers,

I'm a teacher, as I think most of you know. As a teacher, I've witnessed countless moments that touch the heart, but one stands out vividly. And it happened yesterday. I teach 12/13-year-olds in their final year of primary school. This end of year is always crazy and can be emotional for teachers, parents and of course the pupils as we say goodbye to each other. It's very much a crossing of the threshold for these children. They are moving on to a new world.

Accept for the American flag this was pretty much how I felt on my final day….

In our school, we have a great tradition of a guard of honour for the leaving class. We applaud and cheer them on as they walk through the school gate for the final time. We want them to be filled with what is good and positive and joyful to fuel them for next year. Just before my class was set to depart and we were waiting for the final school bell, one of the shyest girls in the class walked up to me from the side. I was leaning up against the press at the back of the room, and she softly said to me, “I want to say thanks for everything.” There was nothing flashy or attention-grabbing, nor was it accompanied by any extravagant present. It was simple, innocent and genuine. It was perfectly child-like. Quite simply, it floored me. We live in a world where plaudits and praise can become token gestures, but in this case, it wasn't. This was the last girl I would expect such a comment from, as she is kind but it is not her nature to be as forward. As I gushed out "You're welcome" to her as she quickly walked away, a part of me was just aglow; she really must have enjoyed her year. Bless her.

I was so thankful that this shy little girl would approach me in her own way and express her thanks in the manner she felt best.

I’m so grateful that humans seem to carry this innate desire to appreciate one another and see each other for who the other person truly is. Our creator has given us this longing for meaningful praise and also the ability to offer it to others. May everybody who reads this newsletter receive and give such meaningful thanks.

Reflection 🤔 

Today, as you read this, take a moment to offer someone a sincere thanks in your heart. It could be someone who helped you once, mentored you, or went above and beyond in your time of need. Think of that little girl and how it doesn’t need to be elaborate, it just needs to come from the right place, that place of abundance and grace. Also, take a moment to remember a time when you were deeply appreciated and someone acknowledged something you did well. Return to this moment and may this illustrate the value you offer to this world.

Have a Blessed Week 🫡

God Bless 🙏

Mike McCarthy