Stop and Smell the Roses

Hello all, Happy Sunday.

Today’s message is short but nonetheless important. During my usual evening chill-out walk this week, I encountered a single pink rose. There it was blossoming on a long, skinny stalk at about waist height. I immediately bent down to smell it. It was divine—so fragrant, with droplets of rainwater nestled inside the petals. This rose was such a joy to my senses.

Stop and smell the roses….

As I walked away, I felt truly grateful for that rose, and for any rose, for that matter. What a privilege it is to be able to take the time to smell these bliss-filled flowers and to do so carefree.I didn’t plant it. I didn’t prune it. Yet there I was able to benefit from its growth.

I am profoundly grateful to live in a world that has roses and to possess the senses that allow me to enjoy them for what they are.

Reflection 🤔

Today, rather than a reflection, I offer an instruction. This week, as you go about your business, if you encounter a rose or any fragrant flower, make sure you stop and smell it. Take a moment to enjoy it for what it is.

God Bless 🙏

Mike McCarthy 🫡