Sunshine On My Face

Hello Dear Readers,

In Ireland, we have endured some pretty miserable weather for the past six months, but thankfully, summer has arrived. We've enjoyed our first few days of sunshine, not a rain cloud in sight for two days! We are excited. I even saw a swallow flying by, darting and diving. It made me smile, as it's always a sign of summer when we see our little friends return from Africa to spend the next few months with us.

After a very slow-paced jog in my local park, I sat down on the grass. I lay in the sun for ten minutes, listening to the birds and feeling the warmth of the sun on my face. I immediately noted how good it felt, that warm sensation which I hadn't felt for so long. What a gift it is. What's rare is wonderful, and while some parts of the world take it for granted, it is a rarity around here!

Feeling the warm rays of the sun on your face is something to be savoured.

However, my mind then turned to the story of an Irish girl I saw one time on an Irish late night chat show, who suffers from a rare skin condition called Epidermolysis Bullosa (EB). This condition causes her skin to blister when exposed to any form of heat, rubbing, or irritation. Because of this, she constantly has to have her skin bandaged. How difficult this must be for her daily life.

I thought about the gift of feeling sunlight on my skin and how it recharges and soothes me. Yet, that exact same experience is not possible for her. Let us not take this blessing for granted. It is such a simple act to sit out in the sun, yet for many people, through illness or incapacity, it is not possible. May we never take the bountiful rays of the sun for granted. Light is a source of hope, warmth, and vitality. May we relish it whenever it graces our lives

Reflection 🤔

Try to find a moment in your day, preferably in the morning when the sun is not too strong. Find a nice bench to sit on or a place to stand and just feel the sun on your face. Be grateful that it is shining on you and feel its warmth. Many people would give anything to experience what you are experiencing. You are alive. You are well enough and healthy enough to feel the sun's warmth. You are Blessed.

God Bless,

Mike McCarthy.